Winter Wonderland: A Backyard Adventure

frozenrappahannock
Copyright 2017: Kate Zarate

One of the things I love most about winter, besides the snow obviously, are the bare trees.  Yes, you read that correctly.  While bare trees in the daylight can be pretty bland, they are absolutely magical when frosted in snowflakes, crusted with ice, or standing sharp against a winter sunset.

The branches always make me feel grateful to be cozy inside my house or car with a cup of coffee or hot chocolate.  They also remind me that even trees have periods of rest.  I don’t usually do too well with the word ‘rest’ unless I’m really sick.  I always feel like I should be doing something, getting something done, planning for something, or making less to do for the future me.  When I’m trapped in traffic in a car or wrapped up keeping warm by a riverbank they’re a silent signal that it’s okay to just stand still for a while, and that often the stillness helps what’s about to grow and bloom be all the prettier.

wintersunset
Copyright 2017: Kate Zarate
snowyday
Copyright 2017: Kate Zarate
Leave a Reply

